In Youngstown: 201 E Commerce St., Suite 150 - Youngstown, OH 44503 • P: 330.743.5555 • F: 330.743.1802
In Warren: 147 W. Market St. - Warren, OH 44481 • P: 330.469.6832 • F: 330.394.5601


Scholarships Available for Valley Residents

Students and Parents Encouraged to Explore Scholarship Opportunities at CFMV

The Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley administers a variety of scholarships available for both high school and college students in Mahoning and Trumbull Counties. Deadlines are March 1, 2017 for most scholarships. Details for each scholarship, including guidelines and applications, can be found on the Scholarship page of CFMV’s website at

Each scholarship is offered by a component fund of the Community Foundation, benefitting students in varying courses of study from nursing and healthcare to environmental education.

Component funds of the Community Foundation offering 2017 scholarships:

  • The Athena Scholarship Fund
  • The C.M. (Jerry) Collins Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • The Melinda Henning Scholarship Fund
  • The Jean Rider Scholarship Fund
  • The Trumbull Memorial Health Foundation
  • The Warren City Schools Foundation Scholarship Funds
  • The Woman’s Board of Youngstown Scholarship Fund

The Jean Rider Scholarship assists students who have Type 1 insulin dependent diabetes, while the Athena Scholarship is awarded to a female student demonstrating initiative and excellence in her education, work and community service efforts. Students and their parents are encouraged to explore these opportunities and can contact the Foundation with any questions at 330-743-555.

The Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley is a leader and advocate for strategic philanthropy, partnering with donors to anchor a permanent and growing endowment and making investments in the Mahoning Valley that improve the quality of life for all residents. The Foundation and its affiliates hold more than $56 million in assets and dispersed over $1.3 million in grants and distributions in 2016. The Community Foundation is the only local foundation with certification from the Community Foundation National Standards Board.